Ground Breaker Gastropub, Portland, OR

I am visiting Portland for a conference, and am very pleased with all the different gluten-free options I’ve encountered at restaurants. Places here have been very accommodating about all of my food issues. Every time I have asked for information about an ingredient in something, my question has been answered. Folks who work in food service should be knowledgeable about the food they are serving, and it’s refreshing to not have all my questions met with a blank look or a “Um, I don’t think so”.

Ground Breaker Gastropub is 100% gluten free–not just the food, but the beer, too. Amazing! Our waitress was helpful and checked with the kitchen about the ingredients of different menu options if she didn’t know the answer to my questions. She also assured me that just about anything could be modified to accommodate my needs. I enjoyed lamb chops with risotto. So yummy. The lamb chops were cooked to perfection and very tasty. I had a taste of the Dark Ale on Nitro and the IPA. Both were really good. The IPA was especially tasty, but I decided to get the Dark Ale on Nitro since I haven’t found any decent gluten-free dark beer since I went gluten-free. It was really yummy and satisfied my hankering for dark beer.

I wish I lived in Portland, or that this place existed in Las Cruces. Great place, great service.

Leave a Reply

