Make your life easier

During times of stress, most people have a harder time keeping up with healthy eating habits. For me, though, I don’t really have much choice but to try and keep up with my meal plans because my body suffers too much if I don’t. It used to be that if I forgot my lunch, I’d be able to grab something to eat on campus, and I could generally find something that was relatively healthy and tasty.

Life is different now, so I am always planning ahead and obsessing about meals. If we forget to pull something out to defrost, it generally results in a meal with eggs and potatoes (because we never seem to be out of either of those items). My partner works full time and is working on her doctorate. I’m an assistant professor on the tenure track. Our schedules are insanely busy and I frequently wish there was someone who could cook for us. Or that I didn’t have food restrictions.

My best pal told me about the Instant Pot Pressure Cooker and said it was a life changer. I wasn’t convinced. I asked if it was going to make my life easier than a crock pot. She assured me that it would, and said that she found her food more flavorful than when she used a crock pot. I became a little more interested. Then she told me it cooks frozen chicken in fifteen minutes. Hallelujah! So we caved and bought one.

I am in love with it.

The first thing I made with it was chicken, and I used frozen chicken breasts. A quick internet search turned up this video:

I followed her instructions (thank you, Busyzgirl), added a little broth, some roasted red pepper sauce and a bit of broth, and some basil.

In just a few minutes I had a yummy dinner. I used the leftover liquid to make a yummy sauce for the chicken. It was super delicious.

Make life easier for yourself. Buy an Instant Pot. Or ask someone to buy it for you.

Leave a Reply

