Breakfast Isn’t Just for Breakfast Anymore!

Ok, so like most of you I struggle with food allergies and intolerances. I plan, I write lists, and yet, I still miss the mark on eating what is healthy and acceptable to my ever so sensitive (and annoying) system. The one meal I find that is consistently safe for me and yummy to eat is breakfast food. Breakfast isn’t just for breakfast anymore (actually never was… I am a slow changer and it took me a while to embrace this concept!).

There are many, many choices to pick in the breakfast genre that is healthy, gluten-free, in my case, dairy-free! You can have all the yummy goodness of the various types of your favorite foods all in one meal. For instance, I just made poached eggs with bacon and homemade biscuits. The biscuits are easy to make and taste as good as granny’s used to including being fluffy, which is rare with gluten-free breads (recipe below). Other options are fruit and omelets. Omelets are especially great because you can add in any kind of meat protein and veggies you love making the meal well-rounded with goodness. Breakfast items are flexible and simple to make. They are filling and supper yummy to eat and I don’t end up wasting time, energy, and especially money.

Recipe from Granny’s Kitchen Blog
http://grannyskitchen.wordpress.com/2007/09/17/grannys-homemade-biscuits/

2 cups all purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons sugar
1/4 cup butter or margarine
3/4 cup milk

I added 3/4 tsp of xanthum gum and used Bob’s Red Mill All Purpose Baking Flour. The buscuits are fluffy and taste great. You can substitute out the butter for non-dairy options and use any type of sugar you like.

Hope you enjoy! Lizzy the Lazy Cook

Leave a Reply

