Meatloaf

Meatloaf is good comfort food, and really easy to make. Since I started following the IC diet, I haven’t made meatloaf because I always used a lot of ingredients such as mustard, ketchup, and tomatoes, that will aggravate IC. I missed having it because it is so easy to make, and a good item to make ahead for lunch.

I was happy to see a meatloaf recipe in the Confident Choices cookbook, but was worried that the recipe would be too dry. If you’ve ever had dry meatloaf, you know it’s rather gross. Today I tried it, but had to make some modifications to it because I can’t have some of the ingredients it calls for (garlic, onion). Here’s my modified version:

  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 1/4 cup of chopped mushrooms
  • 1/4 cup of chopped basil
  • Pound of ground beef
  • Egg
  • Two tablespoons of milk
  • Gluten-free bread crumbs (about 3-5 tablespoons)
  • Salt and pepper

Saute the red bell pepper and mushrooms together til the peppers are softened just a bit. Then add in the chopped basil and combine it all. In a separate bowl, beat the egg and add the milk, then add the remaining ingredients and combine it with the pepper/mushroom/basil combo. Form into a circle, then make a hole in the middle to form a ring. Bake at 350 for a half hour.

Here’s how it looked:

meat loaf

We made a gravy to go on it, and it was pretty tasty. The meatloaf was not as dry as I worried it would be, and my partner said she really enjoyed it. Next time I think I’ll use a bit more bell pepper and puree the mushroom/bell pepper mixture before combining it with the other ingredients. I will also save some of that to make a sauce to go on top of the meatloaf, since I’m really fond of sauces. I’ll let you all know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

